Teaching and learning in the modern library

I am just starting to look seriously at teaching/revisiting library skills to senior secondary students. To date, I have had limited support from teachers and limited success with students. I am going to have to develop strategies to enlist key teachers to encourage teachers and students to make good use of the library and the teacher librarian. The Internet does not have it all, there is so much other information that is available via databases and (dare I say it) books! Can our students really locate and select relevant information quickly and easily? Can our teachers teach research skills?

I am starting a Teacher-Librarianship course that I hope will set me on the right track to initiate and succeed in my endeavours. I need skills to be an effective leader, teacher of research skills, a smart collection development librarian and also need to learn about our new Australian Curriculum which is still being put into place in the senior secondary sector of schools.

I will try to record here my successes, and probably a few failures, as I learn to teach in the modern library.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

